Two hard core Maoists were neutralized in Bijapur

Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India

(Central Reserve Police Force)


New Delhi

Dated 21st May, 2016


      Two hard core Maoists were neutralized today in Bijapur district of Chhatisgarh in an encounter by CoBRA troops of CRPF and State Police during a joint operation. Three Arms, an IED, Cordex wire, Pithoos, maoist literature and various other incriminating items are among the recovery.

      There were intelligence inputs about presence of a group of 30-35 strong maoists in the area of village Cherkanti and Karenar under PS- Gangloor , District – Bijapur, Chhattisgarh. In wake of these inputs;  a joint operation was launched by CRPF, CoBRA troops and the State Police in the area on 20/5/2016 . After conducting search in the area, on 21/5/16 around 0250 - 0305 A.M.  during return while parties were passing through the forest area of Kotter and Reddy villages, the armed Maoists opened indiscriminate firing on the troops. The troops took positions and quickly  retaliated the attack. When the firing subsided, search of the area was done. During search, 2 dead bodies of Maoists including one female in uniform were recovered . The female maoist has been identified as Tati Hapka, Member of Darbha LOS.

      The male dead body has been identified as Manoj Hapka, Commander of Kanger Valley Darbha LOS and a rewardee of Rs 5 Lacs by Chhattisgarh Government. Manoj Hapka was involved in many incidents. Most prominent among these is infamous Jheeram Ghati incident on 25 May 2013 wherein 28 people including some top congress leaders besides Police personnel were killed by Maoists in an audacious attack.

  • BSF
  • Chhattisgarh Police
  • A&N Islands
  • AP Police
  • RPF
  • CRPF
  • BCAS
  • Delhi Police
  • Special Protection Group (SPG)
  • UP Police
  • Tamil Nadu Police
  • Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)
  • Sikkim Police
  • Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy
  • Punjab Police
  • Puducherry Police
  • Odisha Police
  • National Security Guard (NSG)
  • National Investigation Agency
  • National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
  • North Eastern Police Academy
  • National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)
  • Narcotics Control Bureau
  • Nagaland Police
  • Madhya Pradesh Police
  • Mizoram Police
  • Meghalaya Police
  • Manipur Police
  • Lakshadweep Police
  • Kerala Police
  • Karnataka Police
  • Jharkhand Police
  • Jammu & Kashmir Police
  • ITBP
  • Himachal Pradesh Police
  • Haryana Police
  • Goa Police
  • Maharashtra Police
  • CISF
  • West Bengal Police
  • Uttarakhand Police
  • Tripura Police
  • Telangana Police
  • Rajasthan Police
  • Arunachal Police
  • Assam Police
  • Gujarat Police
  • Chandigarh Police